Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching Recognition

The White House announced the winners of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Recognition ceremonies for the 2008 Presidential Awardees will be held January 4 - 7, 2010 in Washington, DC. I was fortunate to serve on the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) program in August of 2009 (see note below). -Dr. Petrosino

For a full list of teachers and profiles, click HERE

President Obama recently named more than 100 science, math, and engineering teachers and mentors as recipients of two prestigious Presidential Awards for Excellence.  The educators will receive their awards in the Fall at a White House ceremony.
The Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring, awarded each year to individuals or organizations, recognizes the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying science or engineering and who belong to minorities that are underrepresented in those fields. By offering their time, encouragement and expertise to these students, mentors help ensure that the next generation of scientists and engineers will better reflect the diversity of the United States.
Candidates for the Presidential Mentoring Award are nominated by colleagues, administrators, and students from their home institutions.  The mentoring can involve students at any grade level from elementary through graduate school. In addition to being honored at the White House, recipients receive awards of $10,000 to advance their mentoring efforts.
The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to the best pre-college-level science and math teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates, going either to science and math teachers in grades K through 6 (as it is this year) or to those teaching in grades 7 through 12.
Winners of the Presidential Teaching Award receive $10,000 awards from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for a White House awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders.
"There is no higher calling than furthering the educational advancement of our nation’s young people and encouraging and inspiring our next generation of leaders," President Obama said. "These awards represent a heartfelt salute of appreciation to a remarkable group of individuals who have devoted their lives and careers to helping others and in doing so have helped us all."






Division of Research on Learning in

Formal and Informal Settings

Presidential Awards for Excellence in

Mathematics and Science Teaching


September 23, 2009



Dear Anthony  Petrosino,


On behalf of the National Science Foundation (NSF), we want to express sincere appreciation for the expertise that you provided as a panel reviewer for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) program. Expert panelists are integral to the NSF’s merit review process.  Your advice and recommendations are critical components in the selection of teachers who are worthy of a Presidential Award. 


We recognize that the review of the PAEMST applications is particularly time consuming and sensitive.  While we hope that you enjoyed the process, we do know and appreciate how much time and effort it took. The quality of the discussions and the written reviews were excellent.


Again, thank you so much for your invaluable service to the PAEMST program.






Celeste Pea

Program Director, DRL


Elizabeth VanderPutten

Program Director, DRL


Sent on behalf of Celeste Pea and Elizabeth VanderPutten

by Nancy Spillane, Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow